Fri | Dec 1, 2023

American Airlines goes cashless in Jamaica

Published:Tuesday | September 4, 2018 | 12:00 AMJanet Silvera/ Senior Gleaner Writer
American Airlines


As of Monday, September 17, American Airlines passengers travelling from both the Sangster International and the Norman Manley airports will be required to use a debit or credit card to make transactions with the airline.

American made the announcement on Friday.

"Any transactions at the airport, including purchasing tickets and paying for checked baggage," said the airline, in announcing its transitioning to cashless.

It is expected that many other carriers will follow suit, having done so in other parts of the world.

In the statement to the media, the airline's country manager, Yvonne Pearson, noted that it had transitioned to a cashless airport environment at many locations around the world, allowing its team members to assist their customers in a faster and more efficient manner.

"Moving away from cash transactions also reduces the complexity of work for our agents who will no longer have to worry about handling cash, finding exact change or closing out a cash drawer at the end of the day. This is positive news for our customers and for our team members at the airport," said Pearson.

Alliance Payment Services Limited, a Jamaica-owned company, which was launched in April, and who has announced a card partnership with Mastercard, will handle the issuing of prepaid cards for American Airlines passengers.

Persons with cash can access Alliance Prepaid Mastercards from kiosks in the airports.

So far, three airlines have confirmed that they will go cashless, director of Alliance Peter Chin told The Gleaner.

"We have met with all airlines and they have expressed the willingness to do the same as American Airlines, because all would prefer not to handle cash," he stated.

American Airlines currently operates 21 weekly flights from Kingston to Miami as well as 67 weekly flights from Montego Bay to seven destinations in the United States - Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas/Fort Worth, Los Angeles, Miami and Philadelphia.